Writing and Blogging

This is not the first blog I have written. In fact, I have written many over the past year. I have written for myself (I am still deciding which to post and which are only good enough for my eyes only), and for clients. Most of them are floating around on the web already, but with no link to me. So, I have decided it is time for me to start putting my own words out there and actually attach my name to them. I can only get better with practice and with outside input. I hope so anyway!

A dream I have had for as long as I can remember is to write.

In school, I would always write more than was required for essay assignments. I loved writing, pen to paper, in cursive with a fountain pen (giving away my age here) and then pages and pages of my thoughts and ideas would flow.

Back to the present…
A lot has changed in the past few years. We bought a house, had two children (barely 17 months apart); and then both my husband and myself decided to resign from our jobs and try other things – for various reasons, which I won’t get into here. It has been a challenging time, to say the least!

I had had a rather safe and secure existence up until then; almost 17 years at an established Cape Town accounting and auditing practice, to this.

When I left I was the Practice Manager. I had a team of staff. I knew what I was doing. I had a routine. I had my schedules and my files and my cabinets and my stationery… all organised and in its place; the way I like things. Then I changed it all. I quit my job. I started networking (which I had never done before by the way, and had no idea when I quit that I would have to), and decided I would start my own Administration practice from home.

Why not? I had done it all, hadn’t I?

First my laptop packed up, so I had to borrow one from a good friend, he knows who he is! Then my cellphone decided it no longer wanted to work, well not all the time anyway. Our landline phone in my home office then followed suit. Again, it has been a challenging time. But, I remained optimistic and forged ahead.

I had to do a lot of research on entrepreneurs. Luckily, my other life passion is reading. So I began reading books, watching podcasts, downloading apps and trawling social media for information. I needed to find out more. I realised that I don’t know everything after all…

I started meeting with people, new people, old people from my past. People were reaching out to me, to help, to connect, to give advice, or just to tell me I was crazy. I carried on. I made new friends. I learned new things. I put myself out there on the web (yes, the Virtually Admin website is still coming, being a perfectionist is still one of my major failings so I’m told). I was on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Google+, Instagram. I even tried a couple of other platforms I have since left, no names or reasons will be mentioned.

And then, gradually, I started to sign on clients.
It was exciting, and scary, and liberating.

I was actually doing this. I was going to make it work, no matter who told me I couldn’t. They may have needed the convincing, but I didn’t!

So what has happened in the past year?

Things have been erratic, as an entrepreneur. Especially in that first 12 months… it’s a rollercoaster! Did I mention I very very much dislike rollercoasters, even the baby ones! There have been great months, and not so great months. Quiet months and inundated month-ends. But, I have never given up and I have always remained positive outwardly. There is no point in whining. If there is anything I don’t like, it is up to me to change it or find its solution. This is a choice I have made, and I won’t give up.

To end off, I have a few reasons for starting this blog.

As mentioned, I want to write. I write daily journals for my toddlers, but I wanted to write something else too. I want to contribute to information and ideas and opinions and experiences out there. Why? Because I can. I have learned a lot in the past 20 years – not everything, but something, and knowledge continues to grow if you nourish it.

Finally, I want to help others who are also starting out. This is quite the journey we have started, why do it alone?


Cathy Haumann

Owner
Virtually Admin
Virtual Business Administrators

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

