Measure your Daily Achievements

We all know that time of the day. You have about an hour to go until you can pack away for the evening. You are excited, as you have plans to go out, or you are going to fetch your children from school, or you are going for a run… whatever you are doing, you are keen to leave and to start relaxing.

But wait!
Have you reached any of your goals for today?
And…
Do you measure your daily achievements?

On the other hand, if you have a sense of dread in that last hour. Is it because you are behind with your work, you are stressed, you are not achieving your goals?

However you feel at the end of the work day, take the time to look back, before you leave your desk, or even on your way home, and really think about what you did. What you achieved.

Ask yourself:

  • What have I DONE today?
  • What have I ACHIEVED today?
  • What was important?
  • Did I procrastinate?
  • Did I just use arbitrary tasks to fill my time?
  • Or, did I stretch my tasks out to waste the allotted time given?
  • Think, what did I do? Was any of it moving me forward to tomorrow?
  • How did I get ahead today, since yesterday?
  • Do I feel proud of what I have done today?
  • Was today a great day? Am I smiling?
  • Did I enjoy my day, as much as I will enjoy relaxing this evening?

If not… then you are not achieving your true potential. You are not doing what you should be doing.

Beware of:

  • Adding something to your To Do list, when you have already finished it, just so that you can tick it off. (I know of people who actually do this. It is a false sense of accomplishment and a time waster.)
  • Doing menial/routine tasks throughout the day, that take up a lot of your time and energy, but are unimportant, could have waited, or maybe didn’t even need to be done in the first place.
  • Not doing things that help you to actually pave the way to reaching your future goals and fulfil your vision and dreams.
  • Leaving work for later that you can do now, as you have the facilities to work from home.
  • Keeping a manual diary, where you spend more time writing in your work each day; than actually getting it done.
  • Poor prioritising. Important vs Urgent.
  • Being easily distracted by what is happening around you.
  • Being easily pulled into discussions with others.
  • Getting stuck in a comfort zone.

You need to do at least one thing each and every day that moves you and/or your business forward. Then you will be able to go to sleep with a sense of justified achievement.

 


Cathy Haumann

Owner
| Virtually Admin
Virtual Business Administrators

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

